Engage users with the Randomify button!

Engage users with the Randomify button!

I added a new feature that makes sense to me.

ยท

2 min read

I recently released a new version of my app the Meta Tag Generator with a new feature, a Randomify button after I realized something when using an app with open text fields.

Even when testing this app and others like it, I realized that having to fill out all these form fields can be a daunting task and multiple issues come up as a user:

  1. "I just want to see the result real quick." I am a rather impatient person so I just want to see if this app does what I want and move on or stay.

  2. Mashing my keyboard to create data makes me feel like Zoolander and Hansel. I'm also lazy to come up with fake data.

    image.png

  3. I'm not exactly sure how the app wants my data to look.

The random data is simply common words and names, which can look like real data without looking like "asdf;lksdkasfk;ajsdf."

On quick glance, the data looks legit and like any normal data and quickly gives the user an idea of what they need. I could have used "Lorem Ipsum," but it feels more realistic idea of what is expected.

Do you think this should be a thing?

I think the most important thing to do in UI is to make a user not think too much and make things as obvious as possible and I think a feature like the Randomify button would help a lot.


๐Ÿ‘‰ Try Meta Tag Generator ๐Ÿค–